

Minutes of the General Assembly in Amsterdam, Wednesday, June 25th 2014, 15.30-16.15

Present: 75 members

1) Welcome from the Congress President

2) The Minutes of the General Assembly of Toulouse, published in the Rhinology Journal of June 2013 are accepted.

3) Report of President

Prof. Wytske Fokkens thanks the audience for coming to Amsterdam and announces that there are over 1600 participants from 99 countries at the congress. She is especially very happy that so many young people found their way to Amsterdam and that the Journal Rhinology was able to award travel grants to over 50 junior members to enable them to be a the congress. The president especially thanks the sponsors and exhibitioners and shows a video of an impression of the congress made by Jochem Bretschneider.

4) Report of General Secretary

The Secretary General, Prof. Valerie Lund, thanks Wytske Fokkens for her excellent job in organizing this great and spectacular congress. She is happy to announce that the membership of ERS keeps growing. The ERS now has 2040 members from 82 countries. There has been an increase in membership and Junior Members (who can have free membership up to 35 years old) in the last years. The general secretary promotes block memberships for national rhinologic societies: a way for rhinologic societies to obtain the advantages of membership and online access to Rhinology at a significantly reduced price. ERS membership gives a profit of 10% on ERS courses.

For their special merit to Rhinology in general and contributions to the ERS Honorary memberships were upon David Kennedy and Carel Verwoerd.

The clinical en basic research prize of 1500 euro each were awarded to:

Ms. Laura van Gerven, Leuven, Belgium for her paper:

'Capsaicin treatment reduces nasal hyper-reactivity and transient receptor potential cation channel subfamily V, receptor 1 (TRPV1) overexpression in patients with idiopathic rhinitis' (basic prize)

and to Ms. Lien Calus from Gent, Belgium for her paper:

'Twelve year follow-up study after endoscopic sinus surgery in patients with chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyposis' (clinical prize) Furthermore the GS announces our brand new ERS website with new interesting information, video's and new updates.

5) Report of the Treasurer

The treasurer, Claire Hopkins announced that ERS has a stable and healthy bank account.

6) Report of Editor in Chief

Valerie Lund announces that she demits office as Editor in Chief after 15 years. The last years she was sharing the Editor in Chief position with Wytske Fokkens who has agreed to continue. Peter Hellings and Christos Georgalas will serve as associate editors. We have a very steady numbers of issues every year 4 issues a year, except for 2011 when we had 5 issues due to a significant backlog. We now have a stable 96 pages per issue. Since 2009, we do not accept Case Reports anymore. The acceptance rate is around 20%. The paper is scheduled to be online within 6 weeks after acceptance, in print it takes usually around 6-9 months. The impact factor has risen to 2.4 in 2014, which is in the top 15% of the Otorhinolaryngological papers.

We have a large group of reviewers, some are very active some are less active. It has been decided in the board meeting that from next year on the board will consist of the 30-35 best and most active reviewers. The editor in chief will when necessary add another 5 reviewers on very special subjects. Wytske Fokkens thanks the top reviewers (most papers and fastest turn around in 2012-2014) Nick Jones, Phillipe Eloy and Mark Jorissen for their excellent contribution.

We have started with a Rhinology App for iOS and Android this year.

7) Appointments

Valerie Lund has accepted to be General Secretary for another term of 2 years and announces that after 8 years of service she will stop in 2016.

A number of national delegates and regional representatives have demitted office:

M. Jorissen, delegate for Belgium is replaced by P. Rombaux

- T. Baudoin delegate for Croatia is replaced by Boris Grdinić
- M. Rautiainen delegate for Finland is replaced by Juha Seppa
- E. Serrano delegate for France is replaced by André Coste
- W. Hosemann delegate for Germany is replaced by Achim Beule
- J.S. Lacroix delgate for Switzerland is replaced by Basile Landis
- Pärs Stjarne delegate for Sweden is replaced by Cecilia Ahlström-Emanuelsson
- Representatives:
- S. Davris who has past away last year was representative of Greece and is replaced by Dr. Pavlos Maragkoudakis
- A. Sousa Vieira representative of Portugal is replaced by Dr. Paulo Gonçalves.

Each year 5 ERS fellowships are awarded to visit a course.

In the past these fellowships were awarded to colleagues from Eastern Europe. Due to the crisis we have now opened this fellowships to all European countries.

The ERS fellowships 2013 were awarded to:

Irina Loredana Robu from Romania, International course in advanced sinus surgery techniques, Amsterdam, the Netherlands Miran Krizancic from Slovenia, International course on reconstructive and aesthetic surgery of the nose and face "around the nose", Nijmegen, the Netherlands; Ana Bernic from Croatia, Endoscopic approach to rhinosinusitis in sinonasal disease, London, UK; Ana Pangercic from Croatia, Rhinoplasty course (international course in modern rhinoplasty techniques), Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The ERS fellowships 2014 were awarded to:

Marija Dokaska from Macedonia, International course in advanced sinus surgery techniques, Amsterdam, the Netherlands; Hesam Jahandideh from Iran, International workshop on functional and endoscopic sinus techniques with advanced seminar, Graz, Austria; Iva Brkic from Croatia, Rhinoplasty course (international course in modern rhinoplasty techniques), Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Carlos Chiesa Estomba from Spain, Endoscopic approach to rhinosinusitis in sinonasal disease, London, UK.

Prize winners of the ERS junior member poster sessions offered by Medtronic were:

Session 1: Clinical rhinology abstract, B. Peric, Session 2: Clinical rhinology abstract, V. Bogdanov, Session 3: Endoscopic sinus and skull base surgery, E. Kalyoussef

Prize winners ERS junior member poster session offered by MEDA:

Session 4: Pathophysiology of rhinitis and rhinosinusitis, K. Golebski

Future congress

Due to new European regulations it was unfortunately not possible to have the 2016 congress in Dubrovnik, Croatia. Prof. Pär Stjarne has been so kind to accept to host the ERS congress 2016. He gives a presentation about his plans for the ERS congress 2016 in Stockholm. The board has voted the 2018 congress to be in London.

Any other business

Valerie Lund asks everybody to let us know who they think were the 10 best speakers of the congress.