## 22<sup>nd</sup> Congress of the European Rhinologic Society, 27th International Symposium of infection and allergy of the nose, June 2008, Crete, Greece

Blue skies and warm seas provided the backdrop to the recent ERS/ISIAN meeting at Creta Maris. Seven hundred and ninety delegates from 54 different countries attended the conference with an international faculty of over 460 members from 50 different countries. The comprehensive programme covered all aspects of rhinology supported by an excellent social programme. At the opening ceremony, Professors Draf and Van Cauwenberge were made honorary members of the society for their outstanding contributions and prizes for research were awarded to G. Hens et al (basic research), F.A. Ebbens et al (clinical research) with a supplementary award to S. Janjanin et al. (see ERS Minutes for details).

Paul Van Cauwenberge has been Professor and Chairman of Otorhinolargology, Ghent, Belgium since 1989. In 2005 he was appointed as Rector



'Tony Papavasiliou, Wolfgang Draf, Paul Van Cauwenberge and Gerhard Rettinger at the Opening Ceremony of the ERS congress, 2008'

Magnificus and Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Directory Committee of Ghent University. He has made major contributions to ENT and rhinology in particular, which have been recognised in numerous presidential positions (International Rhinologic 1991-96, European Rhinologic 1996-98, European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology 2001-03) and his appointment as Fellow of the American College of Allergy and Immunology in 2005 and of the Royal College of Physicians of London in 2006.

Wolfgang Draf served as Chairman of the ENT, Head & Neck and Facial Plastic Surgery Department of Fulda, Germany from 1979-2005. Nationally he has served as President of both German Societies of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (1991) and Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery (1996). His enormous contribution in the field of endonasal surgery is internationally acknowledged, resulting in an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, the Professor Dr Ludwig Haymann Award of the German ENT-HNS Society and a Doctor Medical ad Honor from Aristoteles University, Thesaloniki, Greece.

The European Rhinologic society has continued to grow in numbers, particularly in the area of junior membership and collaborates with many societies, including the International Rhinologic Society, the International Symposium on Infection and Allergy of the nose, the European Academy of Otorhinolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and the European Federation of Otorhinolaryngologic Society, as well as having representation on the Global Alliance against Respiratory Diseases. The meeting was an excellent example of this cooperation.

Professor Rettinger demitted office this year after serving the society as General Secretary since 2002. He has done a lot to strengthen the position of ERS and the society expressed thanks to him for all his hard work. Professor Lund was confirmed as his successor at the meeting.

We look forward to the next meeting on June 20 - 24 in 2010 in Geneva under the Presidency of Professor Lacroix.

Anthony Papavassiliou President ERS and

Valerie Lund General Secretary ERS